La Crosse County - Cheryl McBride

Cheryl, better known as Cheri, was elected Register of Deeds and assumed her duties on January 1, 2007. She began with La Crosse County as an entry clerk in July of 1990 and had been the senior deputy since 1994 before being elected. Cheri received an associate degree as a paralegal and a vocational diploma in office computers both from WTC in La Crosse. Cheri is a past president of the WRDA & has served on the Vital Records, Legislative, Nominating, Conference and New Member committees. She has 1 adult daughter, Nicole, an RN who works at Mayo Hospital in La Crosse. In her spare time, Cheri enjoys traveling, golf, canoeing, riding motorcycle, playing with her dog Wrigley and watching all types of sports.


Office Address

212 N. 6th St. Rm 1400
La Crosse WI 54601 

Office hours: 8:00 - 4:30
Telephone: 608-785-9644

Quick Links

About the Register of  Deeds Office

The Register of Deeds office consists of the Registrar, 2 deputies, and 2 entry clerks. We have real estate document images on computer back to 1935, however most can only accessed by the document number as they are not indexed. We have scanned all of our grantor/grantee indexes and our tract indexes and they are now available on Laredo. Most of our plats are scanned & we hope to complete this project in 2016 as well as all real estate documents back to 1851. We are back indexing older documents working backwards and are currently working on 1950, this is an ongoing project that is very time consuming. Everything from 1951 forward should be complete. We offer Laredo & Tapestry online services for searching real estate records 24 hours, seven days a week. In Oct. 2010 we started accepting credit cards for copies of vital records and real estate document through Paygov. March 31, 2009 we added e-recording of level 2 & 3 documents as another recording option for our customers. We hope when all of these projects are completed, it will enable us to provide even better service to individuals, professional customers and other county departments.